Interview: Ultrasound device

| May 20, 2024

Interview: Ultrasound device

Luc Jonveaux has been developing some ultrasound devices in open source in his spare time for several years. His motivations have been to have fun and give back to the commons. Different devices were created in his small apartment in Paris, and they were used by quite a large community of enthusiasts.

by the Open make team, Luc Jonveaux. Copyright to the authors, distributed under a CC-BY 4.0 licence.

Sections:

Banner image: fixme, By CERN, distributed under a CC-BY-SA 4.0

Interviewee: Luc Jonveaux

Interviewers: Robert Mies (TU Berlin) & Moritz Maxeiner (FU Berlin)

Transcription and editing: Diana Paola Americano Guerrero, Robert Mies, Fabio Reeh, Moritz Maxeiner & Julien Colomb

screenshot of the interview

Screenshot of the interview.

The un0rick in a nutshell

The Lit3rick board.

Photos of FIXME

  • Main website: http://un0rick.cc
  • Project start: 2018
  • Core development team size: 1-5

Hardware products

un0rick has a modular concept where the different functional blocks of the hardware split into individual physical elements. The latest is the lit3rick board, which are smaller, approximately the size of a Pi Zero or Raspberry Pi’s.

Hardware maturity

lit3rick is market ready

Rebuilds

Some used the sources to do their own batches through fabs and produced it on their end.

The project

Project start

I was a research engineer at Philips in medical imaging. we were working as a company on a low cost medical imaging device and they decided not to proceed with the product.

In 2014 Mehdi, another doctor, Olivier and I, started echOpen as an association to post the technical project of having open source with ultrasound. I left in 2016. echOpen was more going into medical device. I wanted to focus on opening the technology to let people play with the tech.

How did the project open source ultrasound start?

Show answer

Project process

I egoistically started with documenting what I was doing. When you do that in evening and weekends or from time to time, you take a break and never know when you come back to experiment. You don’t know where you’ve been. It’s quite helpful to have a documentation.

People come to me by email and I have a open Slack channel to allow people to talk to me and to a wider community.

A good consequence of the bottleneck of time is that hardware takes time. I can put everything on hold for two months and just keep the communication in the community. Because it’s a side project, that doesn’t bother me.

I don’t have a roadmap. It’s just what is fun at the moment.

What was the core benefit of the project?

Show answer

Funding

I’m not making any money out of that. The community helps keeping the cost down when doing a batch.

When it comes to get funding and institutional support or knowing an email address to be able to register on any research publication institute, it’s impossible.

From my pocket I spent maybe between 5 and 10 000 € over the past five years.

Is the project funded in some way?

Show answer

How much money have you put in yourself?

Show answer

Work Coordination

I don’t want to be a bottleneck in the community communication. Most of the interactions are through slack.

A bit of physical interactions occur because a few current members came through Paris or London and we meet to chat in meetings.

It’s pretty much organic and defined in the long term.

The institutions I work with and I define the requirements. We have extensive periods of exchanges about their needs. To some extent, they drive the decision of the joint project. Later I provide more support and know what I’m taking back from that.

Could you describe the overall process?

Show answer

Major issues

There is no real issue because un0rick is a side project. My life doesn’t depend on that. As a side project, I develop it when I want to and when I have the time to.

Components shortage over the last year froze the development of what I’m doing.

I’m developing that at home on a 65 square meter flat in Paris. The smaller my bench is the better. That’s why I focused on electronics.

What major issues have you come across during the project and how did you resolve them?

Show answer

Core team and community

Today, on the Slack are around 240 participants. I think we have 20 active members.

The agreement I have with institutions is that I advise them on the sector on something they do not know, and in exchange, they put technical and professional skills into the project, which is fed back to the project.

Most of the active contributors have this willingness to share back. It’s the mentality of playing around.

Do you have to make decisions in the project or how are they made?

Show answer

The hardware

Hardware components

The firs version was around a modular approach with the different functional blocks of an ultrasound system, fragmented in different modules that you could assemble to other working systems. That evolved in terms of mentality towards a more integrated system and more proficient system.

The project reflects my technical knowledge, because in the beginning it had low complexity. The more I knew about the project, the more I was able to concentrate on my skills and vice versa.

Then I started developing a new series of board delay tricks which are smaller, cheaper and have a bit more performance. I appreciated that this is a preliminary step into next stages of the project which I discuss with the openMRI people.

We are discussing to what extent we could build a basic Arduino, that could be used with another board for both technologies, ultrasound or MRI.

What hardware products have you developed?

Show answer

How would you classify the product? Is it mainly a board, or are there other components, like mechanical or software, that you had to develop?

Show answer

I see that the board has FPGAs on it. Did you develop any gateware, or is that up to the end user?

Show answer

Where would you rate the maturity of the product in terms of prototype, demonstrator or market ready?

Show answer

Has the hardware been built or produced by others independently?

Show answer

Did these people modify it as well?

Show answer

Research outputs

Academic outputs

The activist circle would be five. The latest paper I published was with these guys. We have a community paper that has been published.

I’ve got two papers on the journal of open hardware about Ultrasounds. I’ve published a couple of other notes on Zenodo for the CERN people to get some results out.

What were the envision envisaged outputs of the hardware development in terms of publications, the hardware itself and documents?

Show answer

Hardware importance

I think, the board and documentation have been the focused outputs. The community is a byproduct. I have no objectives when it comes to community. You can say fun is the number one expected output.

Did you publish your project findings in relation to the hardware somewhere?

Show answer

Publication strategy

I’ve done a couple of publications on, for example, the Journal of Open Hardware. That raised the profile of the project

I publish in my GitHub the design files. The core publications are my online material, which would be in GitHub and Zenodo.

What kind of information have you shared regarding the bill of materials, CAD files and assembly instructions?

Show answer

How did you publish the hardware besides in journals? Did you publish the hardware overall?

Show answer

Why did you choose these platforms?

Show answer

Were there any barriers in using these platforms?

Show answer

Is there anything you didn’t publish?

Show answer

Successes and failures

I have no objectives unless having fun. It was successful in having fun.

Component shortages frustrates me a lot.

What was successful about the project and what wasn’t successful?

Show answer

Local production

In 2020 and the supply shortage, I did’t have the chips and couldn’t move forward

Participants

How did you end up working on the project?

Show answer

How many members have worked on the project and hardware?

Show answer

Do you know anything about the occupations of the people that have worked on the project with you?

Show answer

Have all these different groups contributed to your project? How many people have contributed?

Show answer

How did you find suitable project members to contribute?

Show answer

How did you coordinate the work between the members?

Show answer

Can you say how the members or the contributors have benefited from their work on the project?

Show answer

Personal gain

The core benefit is to be honest that I have a blast and I learn.

Having a nice challenge can be fun.

I see value in providing something to others. My users are getting access to technology that they wouldn’t have access to normally. The benefit is to make it available and allowing people to test the ideas for educational purposes.

To have the opportunity to meet with the wider open community is interesting.

I do believe that giving back to the commons and being open are some of the ethics when you’re into technology.

How did you benefit from the project?

Show answer

Would you do it again if you if you think back?

Show answer